A Million Little Pieces

So today I finished reading this book by author James Frey called A million little pieces. This book in a short summary is a detailed version of his thought process while in a rehab facility. How he got there, his time as a patient and a brief chapter after he leaves. Supposedly there was a lot of “false” information in this book although it was written as a memoir, for the drama and facts behind it I have no idea. Anyways as I’ve been reading this book It was weird to me. I had given up smoking for legal reasons and at some point in the past months I attempted to give up drinking. I understood and related where the author was coming from in his struggle to stay sober and fight the temptations of the addictions we surround ourselves by. Regardless if this book was false or true it was still a great read. In my times of need and struggle it helped me push threw my difficult times. Not just about drug and alcohol abuse its also about love, friendship, building new relationships as well as rebuilding trust. To be an addict is one thing but to omit and talk openly about being an addict I think is more of a struggle. I know now that I am an addict. Its the dark truth that I’ve learned to speak about. Proud or not I surrender to my temptations. Why? To fit in? Be included? Feels good?

No…. yeah its nice to be invited out to the bar with your friends but then guess what…. You’ve spent how much on one night of fun where you will feel sick the next morning? I learned from this book that I needed to slow down. Stop and just enjoy my life as it comes and to not be a victim of my addictions. Say no and feel better about myself for staying sober. Treat my body well because in the end all the fun I’m having is just poisoning my body. I had better intentions when starting to type this but now as I hit 2 am i kind of just want to turn on netflix and go to bed. HA. Life is so beautiful and so many take for granted. To be able to hear , see , smell. Basic motor functions are a blessing we don’t all have then to have a job and money. A car, roof over my head, food in my stomach and a toothbrush to brush my teeth. These are not common to every living soul. There are people in rehab struggling to stay alive because of an addiction.. There families are at home missing a loved one while mine are in the next room asleep. I understand that those are their consequences to their actions but at the same time, how could we help? Make an impact to help keep this crap out of our world. We can’t because were to busy watching netflix or sucked into our smart phones watching girls twerk or taking pictures of our food before we post it online. Guilty of posting pictures but I want to make an impact in a positive form. I haven’t figured out how but this book definitely helped clear my head of the temptations and realize what I am. I am an addict but I will no longer let it run my life

berriencountymug1.a773deb6121797041fc046c2373c4209

Leave a comment